Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Microcontroller vs PLC

Status
Not open for further replies.

masoud23

Hello!
I am working on a project with industrial automation. The system today use PLS. I am thinking about using microcontroller “ARM9” and Canbus for communication. I have some knowledge of microcontroller and embedded programming but very little knowledge of PLS. I wonder if there is anyone who has experience/knowledge of both and can mention advantages and disadvantages for PLC vs micro or reference to some article about it.

Tanks in advance

Modern PLC's are probably just built using microcontrollers anyway, and as they are built specifically for industrial automation it makes sense to use them as there's masses of experienced people in 'programming' them.

Basically if you use a microcontroller you're just building your own (non-standard) PLC.

Hi masound