Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Microcontroller and database

Status
Not open for further replies.

ymnraf

Hello all,

I am a newbie to microcontrollers and i was looking into building an embedded device that has a microcontroller, a memory (probably EEPROM or flash memory) and an LCD display. The microcontroller will take the input from the input system, get the corresponding record from the database, and display the output on the LCD. I was hoping someone here would be able to help me with chosing the best devices for this job (i.e. what models of microcontroller, memory and LCD display are best for such a job). The database is a big one, so I would probably need at least 2megs of memory.

Thanks.

Are you sure a microcontroller is the right tool for the job?

Where will that database be located? Are we talking network access to a database with some sort of buffering/caching on the microcontroller?

Or is your 2MB requirement actually the amount of memory needed on the microcontroller itself (or external RAM/EEPROM on the same circuit) to store all of the data?

The 2MB is actually the microcontroller itself (or external RAM/EEPROM on the same circuit) to store all of the data. I am actually not sure if a microcontroller is what I want to use for this but it seems like a microcontroller can do the job. I would appreciate any suggestions or links to helpful sites on such designs.

Thanks

rafat

Ok, I think the use of the word "database" is confusing me here...