Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Microchip code configurator

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mosaic

Hi All:
I am looking at this:
**broken link removed**
And I am a C noob.

Would it be a good place to start getting into C for PICS?

thx

I would have to say no for a couple of reasons. For one thing, it only works in MPLab X, which in general I don't recommend. Second, it seems very convoluted and it looks like it really won't help you learn C at all, unless you do a lot of digging. Auto-generated code is generally something you'd want to avoid though. Just read through some of the XC8 documentation and look for code examples using google. That's probably your best bet.

I would have to say no for a couple of reasons. For one thing, it only works in MPLab X, which in general I don't recommend.
Just curious. Why don't you recommend MPLAB X? I've just recently started using it after switching over from an obscure development platform, and it's working well for me, so far.

MPLAB X has still several issues that can cause major heartache... I still use MPLAB 8 and will continue to until I'm satisfied all the bugs are out...

Whilst teaching Danny ( my ex coworker ) , we had a real toil trying to get code to work... NOT a teaching environment.. To learn C.... Use XC8 lite and MPLAB 8 ( still available ) only when you get a bit experienced you can move to MPLAB X..

Just my take, but several members here have had similar experiences