Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Mechanical Engineer, total electronics NOOB!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.
KeepItSimpleStupid told me to say this, so here goes:

I am a noob when it comes to electronics. And I've joined this forum in the hope of getting some practical advice to realise me theoretical visions. I'm going to post a few projects here, some of which may never be built, others which I am hoping, no, going to build.

My first project may never be built (for non-electronic reasons), but I'm still hoping to extract some useful info from this for future projects.

Here's the scenario:

My car has four headlights: two driving/dipped lights, and two foglights. The lights are powered by the main switch, which also turns on the front fog lights and then the rear foglights (but I'm going to ignore the rears). The column switch activates the driving lights when pushed forward, which turns off the dipped beams. Pulling back on the column swich also turns on the driving lights, but only to flash - a spring returns the switch to centre (i.e. dipped beams). The first schematic is my approximation of how this works. I have omitted the main switch, since that is assumed to be always on for the purpose of this project. The flash switch is included, though.