Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Meaning of BATERRY polarity

Status
Not open for further replies.

lefam

Hi guys!

I am pretty new to electronics. I am having some problems with my first circuits and I am now suspecting that maybe my understanding of battery polarity is wrong.

So, my question is: in batteries (example 9V alkaline) the (+) terminal is +Vs, and the (-) terminal is GROUND?

(+) terminal = +Vcc?
(-) terminal = GROUND?

I have been using (-) like +Vs and (+) like GROUND. Probably the cause of failure in my first circuits.

In circuits with bipolar components, the "+" terminal of the battery is VCC, and the "-" terminal is ground. Looks like you had it backwards.

So, to power a circuit (for example the 555 IC), what should I connect where they ask for +Vs (PIN8 in the case of the 555 IC)? The (+) terminal from the battery or the (-) terminal?

You should have a VCC or V+ pin that connects to the "+" terminal of your battery. I don't know about a +Vs pin.

PS: Pin 8 connects to the "+" terminal for a 555.

Last edited:
Voltage is always measured between two points. We can illustrate this with a volt meter which has a black probe and a red probe. By convention the black probe it though of as gnd.

If we touch the black prove to a - on a cell and the red to + we will read 1.5V. If we reverse the leads with the black/gnd probe on the + we read -1.5V.