Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Matlab to pic serial communication

Status
Not open for further replies.

mankmanky1

Hi there

I am new to serial communication and I am trying to do a project where I can interface matlab with my pic18f4431 micro. I am having a problem setting up my pic to receive data serially as it fails to load properly via my bootloader program...

The code is below:

#include <htc.h>
#include<stdio.h>

void main(void)
{
ANSEL0=0b00000000;

TRISA = 0b00000000;
RCSTA=0b10010000;
TXSTA=0b00100000;
SPBRG=0x0F;

wait:
if(PIR1bits.RCIF==0)
{
goto wait;
}

PORTA=RCREG;
}

I was hoping this would program the pic to receive data serially...

My matlab on the other hand I think is ok. I have programmed matlab to send information serially via matlab to my pic using a vector that contains the bytes to be sent...
Do I have to send data via matlab in a vector or is there another way?

The matlab code is below:

b=[7 4];
s = serial('COM2');
set(s,'BaudRate',9600,'DataBits',8,'Parity','none','StopBits',1,'FlowControl','none','InputBufferSize',102400)
fopen(s);
s.Status

if strcmp(s.TransferStatus, 'idle') || strcmp(s.TransferStatus,'read')
fwrite(s,b,'uint8','async');

else

end

stopasync(s)
fclose(s)
delete(s)
clear s
display('finished')

Please can someone help me as I really need some direction

Thanks

hi man, first of all a question from my side and a very very important one: