Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Making an mp3 pillow...

Status
Not open for further replies.

wgdg1

Hey im totally new to this so would really appreciate some help..

I'm trying to build a pillow which i can plug my ipod into to listen to music..

Here is my plan below
**broken link removed**

A few questions i really need help with :)
1. Would this "diagram" above work?
2. What specifications of speakers would i need (eg how many watts or ohms etc?)
3. Do i need some kind of amplifier?

4. Will it be loud enough or do i need to install a battery pack for power or something?

I would really appreciate any help from anyone.. thanks!

Ipods and MP3 players are designed to drive earbuds that have an impedance of about 35Ω; they wont drive 4Ω or 8Ω speakers; they might drive small 16Ω or higher impedance speakers if you can find some at low volume.

Cheapest way: go to a garage sale where someone is selling "powered" computer speakers. That would have everything you need, including a small stereo amplifier which usually operates from a 9-12V plug-in wall wart. It even has the 1/8" stereo jack to plug directly into Ipod. I have bought a set of small computer speakers for $1.

Thanks alot, but woud that need to be plugged into the wall? im trying to make a pilow that is totaly portable and just runs of an ipod.

Would it be possibe to install some sort of battery pack to help??

thanks so much for your help
wg

I would try flat transducers, even piezos.