Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Major Newb Questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

CircuitCurious

So I'm pretty new to electronics, circuitry and electricity. I've had the pleasure of working on a bridge project using a Vex kit and RobotC to build an autonomous bridge. I have had a lot of fun working on the project, but being a University course, it was fairly guided, so my knowledge of these wasn't developed much beyond what we needed to do.

I'm looking to get started with my own electronics hobby, but first I need to acquire some hardware. I'm hoping that the all the knowledgeable folks here could help me figure out what I'll be needing based on some of my envisioned projects:

-Basic lights/sensor circuits
-Home made alarm clock
-Wireless motion detector
-Remote controlled car (distant future)
-Solar panels (distant future)
Anything else to suggest for a newbie?

So far I've concluded that I'll need:

-Multimeter (I'm still really unsure, Fluke 177/179 seems to have plenty of extra features...But I don't know if it's really worth the investment)
-Breadboard
-Wires and alligator clips
-Resistors
-LED Lights
-Sensors
-Soldering iron
Do I need anything else?

I still don't understand what the real world uses are for an Oscilloscope and whether I really need one.

Whereabouts should I look online for all these things at a fair price? Thanks for helping a newbie out!

Last edited:
This place has a variety of things as well as pretty good prices: