Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

M54128 Earth Leakage Current Detector

Status
Not open for further replies.

kevindd992002

Can anyone please help me on what function does the M54128 Earth Leakage Current Detector do? I don't quite understand what it does based on the datasheet: http://www.datasheetcatalog.com/datasheets_pdf/M/5/4/1/M54128.shtml provided by Renesas/Mitsubishi.

I'm in the process of doing an Analysis and Simulation job in my company but I'm new to this. I have the circuit of the whole chip but am having a hard time analyzing it.

Any help would be much appreciated. Thanks.

Last edited:
Go to Home Depot an buy a GFCI outlet. Disassemble it...

What does earth-leakage exactly mean? Is this unwanted current that flows to ground?

What mike is suggesting is to buy a GFCI outlet and take it apart. The theory being that current in is equal to current out and if current in does not equal current out the difference is going somewhere. So to answer the above quote, yes.

If the current in > the current out then the current has leakage to ground other than the normal current path. If this path is other than normal then we want to immediately stop all current flow as the path other than normal could be through a person. Thus we want to Interrupt the current.

A Google of GFCI will provide a wealth of information.

Also, your link is not very good.

Ron