Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Luminous response for a determined frequency

Status
Not open for further replies.

luixclid

Hello Forum,

I'm a newbie and i looking for some advice to start this project.

I need to light a 12v light when a sound is heared. The frequency must be between 10khz and 50khz.

I suppose i need to make a mic amplifier with some frequency filters and a power section on the end to light up, but i'm concerned about wich amp IC and/or transistors to use.

Please i will be soooo grateful for all your help

Luix

Probably three stages. First, amplify the input to a reasonable level. Bandpass filter, then drive a mosfet or bjt to the load. As far as frequency response goes, the unity gain bandwidth of most modern opamps will suffice for your range, as long as you don't ask one stage to do all the amplification. Even a basic 741 staged circuit could do this easily, and its UGBWP~1MHz.

What are you going to use for a microphone?
The max frequency for audio microphones is somewhere between 15kHz and 25kHz.
Ultrasonic transducers work at about 40kHz with a sharp resonance. I don't know of a mic that is sensitive from 25kHz to 40kHz and from 40kHz to 50kHz.

Ordinary TL071 single, TL072 dual and TL074 quad opamps amplify very well up to 100kHz. An old 741 opamp has a max frequency of only 9kHz at full output swing.

Ooops!