Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

LTSpice gotcha

Status
Not open for further replies.

alec_t

Most Helpful Member
I'm a relative newbie to LTSpice and have been simulating a circuit using multiple data-latches of the 4013 type. Frustratingly, I couldn't get it to do what I wanted, so I tried a simpler simulation with just one latch to try and spot the error.
The relevant latch model that LTSpice offers is the 'dflop'.
I grounded the dflop D input and clocked the clock pin, expecting to see the Q output at 0. But no, Q = 1. Eh? What's going on? After much gnashing of teeth I discovered that by connecting the D input to a 0V voltage-generator instead of to ground, the dflop behaved as expected and gave me Q = 0.
I recall reading in the 'Help' for gate elements that LTSpice makes a distinction (for reasons best known to itself) between 0V and ground in connection with some inputs, but I couldn't see any reference to this in relation to the dflop. Indeed, I couldn't find any help at all for the dflop element!
A real 'gotcha' for newbies.

hi alec,

The LTS 'Ground' isn't really Ground or 0V, its the reference node on the circuit, that LTS uses to calculate the plots

Do you have the 0V node connected to ground? If not that would explain the problem.

Thanks, guys.