Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

LT Spice

Status
Not open for further replies.

ronv

Most Helpful Member
I'm new to LTSpice and now need to add some models. I've googled my brains out bit am still confused on how to add models. Mike helped me add a regulator, but when it came time to add a zener it became clear I didn't really understand how to do it.
What I would like to propose is that we come up with a beginners procedure for adding models. I would be happy to be the beginner to test it.

Any experts out there that would help?

We could start with my latest attempt: I downloaded a PD3Z284C24 Zener from diodes Inc.

Have you solved the unzip problem?

Here is the step by step process that worked for me:

1. Copy and paste the PD3Z284C24 Spice subcircuit from **broken link removed** to a generic text editor window, like Notepad. Save the file in your working subdirectory as PD3Z284C24.txt.

2. Create a LTSpice schematic. Using the little AND gate icon submenu, select a ZENER diode from the predefined list of symbols and insert it into the schematic. Add a 0V voltage source V1 for simulation stimulus, and a 1K resistor between the positive terminal of the supply and the cathode of the Zener. Ground the anode and the negative terminal of the supply. Name the node connected to the cathode of the Zener K.