Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Low Voltage Transistor and high Voltage transistor

Status
Not open for further replies.

alphaai

Hello,

I a newbie here. I've a question about transistors.

If I use a transistor to cause higher amount of currents to flow through the collector to the emitter by turning the transistor on,

1) how would I know how much input voltage can be applied to the collector and how much input voltage can be applied to the base? Is there a range? I see Vc

2) Would this have anything to do with choosing a Low Voltage Transistor or a High Voltage Transistor?
Lets say I have a motor which may require 12volts to run, does this mean I would
need a high voltage transistor? likewise, if I had a 5v motor, would I need a low voltage transistor to run it?

3) How would you know if your transistor would require a heatsink? Is there something to look out for in the specs that could determine how hot it could get?
I see 'PD @ 25 Degrees Celsius'.

Thanks heaps,

Ben

Last edited:
Specs.

1) how would I know how much input voltage can be applied to the collector and how much input voltage can be applied to the base? Is there a range? I see Vc
If you look at page1 of the data-sheet you will see Vceo and Vcbo. this is the maximum voltage the transistor can see.

2) Would this have anything to do with choosing a Low Voltage Transistor or a High Voltage Transistor?
Lets say I have a motor which may require 12volts to run, does this mean I would