Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Low power output from fets, can anyone help?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Swifty

Hi all,

I have been working on a small circuit the last few days which is designed to be an RGB Led Controller.
I am no electronics expert and have been learning as I go, but I've hit a problem with my finished board and can't figure out what is happening..
The circuit was built using the diagram attached, and everything is indentical except I had to use IRFZ44N fets as I could not source IRFZ14 locally..

Now to the problem.. all the leds on the board work (they are just there for testing so you don't have to attach anything to the outputs) but I get very low voltages from the actual outputs - all of them are giving around 0.02v - 0.08v, it should be more like 12v!
I have metered the voltage at the gate of the fet and they are all around 2.02v

Have I done something wrong or has the change of components screwed something up ?

Thanks!

Attachments

• momolight_crontrol.gif
    momolight_crontrol.gif
    41.4 KB · Views: 375
We need your schematic. Your gate voltage is way too low to turn on the IRFZ44. John

Hi John,

Thanks for your reply.
Is that referred to as the 'gate threshold voltage' ?

Hi Neil,

No. Gate threshold is where the gate starts to turn on, and can explain why your output is so low. You need to fully turn on the gate to have it act like a switch. For the Mosfet you are using, that is approximately 10V.