Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Lost in the amperes

Status
Not open for further replies.

poutpout

Hi!
I am sorry asking always basic questions, I am really new to electronic but I am totally into it.

Now...
How to calculate the resistance of a DC motor or electromagnet?
How to calculate the amp or a DC motor or electromagnet?

I have 5 solenoids like that PED|67-120-610-620|SOLENOID, LATCH, 12VDC | Farnell UK
I have a MIDI controller like that **broken link removed**

1- I'd like to know if I can run those 5 solenoids with the controller without burning anything?
2- If I have a DC motor but no specifications at all except it's a 12V DC, how can I know if I can use it without exceed the amp or voltage max of the controller?

Electrical specifications:
● Contact Rating: 10W
● Maximum Switching Voltage: 24 VAC
● Maximum Switching Current: 500 mA
● Typical "On" Resistance: 0.2 Ω
● Approximate Switching Delay: 1 ms

Thanks a lot!
one day, it's me who will answer your questions... ;)

Cheers,
Julie

That solenoid rating is 5 watt at 12 volt so just under 0.5 amps (5/12)

Last edited:
Oh thank you!

But how do you calculate it if you don't know the Watt?

I looked at the spec from the link you posted from the solenoid.

It was listed at 5 watts at 12 volts which using the formula P=IV (watts)

P=IV
I=P/V
V=P/I

P=5 watts
V=12 volts

therefore I=5/12 amps (0.42amps)

You always need to know TWO values, to calculate the third.
ok but when you don't have two values?