Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Looking for a good book on Transistors in digital logic-to-power circuits

Status
Not open for further replies.

jerryk

Hi All,
I've been reading a bit and was wondering if there are good books specific to transistor applications when using TTL logic to drive motors etc. I'm a programmer, and understand digital logic (and/or gates etc) but I don't know how to select the proper transistor to digitally control a power load.

Assuming I have a low-voltage logic ciruit and higher voltage power circuit, I'm not sure what to measure to ensure I've got the right transistor to handle the jump.

Similarly, the power jump may be big enough to require a darlington set. I understand darlingtons permit driving greater power, but I don't know how to tell what the 'cutoff' is between a single transistior and the need for darlingtons.

Are there books that directly address digital-to-power transistor selection? If you've learned this from a college text, I'd be happy to know the ISBN etc.

If the only way to learn it is piecemeal via google, I can do that...but I'd prefer to add a good book to my library if one exists.

Many thanks,
Jerry

Last edited:
Don't know of any good books on the subject, although I'm sure there are.

Google will give you a lot of references, but it may take some digging to determine which are really appropriate to your needs. For example, here's a short tutorial on transistor drivers from a digital signal.