Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Long-range Stero FM Transmitter

Status
Not open for further replies.

birla

I am trying to make a Long-range Stero FM Transmitter. I'm looking at a minimum of 2km range with stable and clear transmission.
I have been looking for circuits for some time now...but I couldn't find anything which suits my requirements (and availability of parts!).
I'm a noob at electronics so it's been pretty tough...lol

PS: I know such a range is illegal in most countries but here it's not because we come under the category of an *educational institution*
and the college is willing to get a proper license, but not a proper transmitter :(

...we come under the category of an *educational institution*
and the college is willing to get a proper license, but not a proper transmitter :(

This all screams..."go out and buy a commercial transmitter". You are not going meet the requirements of a "proper license" with a "noob" built transmitter.

Though i do commend you for your effort. :)

Ken

As noted, this is not something you want to try and build from scratch. The cheapest way is likely a kit such as this **broken link removed** which outputs 1W of RF power. It probably costs less than if you bought the parts and did it yourself.

It should get you near the range you need with a good antenna mounted on a high location, but if you need more power, you could add a linear RF amp at the output.