Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Logic tester circuit

Status
Not open for further replies.

mcgill

Hello to all, i am a journeyman electrician who is trying to get an electronics degree. my assignment is to build a logic tester from a kit and write a report on it. one of the requirements of the report is to justify the existance of every component in the project (as if to a potential client) to show no extra parts are included. i assembled the kit and it works according to the test procedures. while i understand most of what goes on in the design,i have a few questions:
the first thing after the probe is a .001 microfarad capacitor in parallel with a 100 kilo ohm resistor, how do i explain this?
also the probe sees a couple of diodes, one with its cathode facing Vcc and the other with its anode facing ground, i'm thinking these bleed off excess voltage to protect the rest of the circuit?
the kit is an elenco lp-525k
also it is not considered cheating if i make reference to your help in the bibliography
thanks for your help

The 100K resistor limits the current into the detector, but the detector has shunt capacitance which will take a long time to charge thru 100K. The .001 uF cap charges the input capacitance so that short pulses can be detected. You are correct, the diodes prevent the voltage from damaging the input circuit.

thanks for the responses