Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

load dump protection (automotive)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Scarr

Hi all,

First let me just say that I am a novice, I try to muddle my way along but sometimes I need advice, so here I am.

I have two DC-DC power supplies one 3.3v 100mA and the other 3.8v 3A all from a car / truck supply (+12 - +24v) whilst my design appears to work sometimes the MCU locks and I think this is due to the load dump / spike problem.

Can anyone take a look at my attached schematics and advise on adding a protection doide to help things or anything else nice and simple.

Thx all

P.S. Please don't just say "zener diode" can you give me a SMT part number as I get a little more than confused when I type "zener diode" in google or even RS.

Attachments

• power1.jpg
    power1.jpg
    262.4 KB · Views: 922
  • power2.jpg
    power2.jpg
    165.4 KB · Views: 632
Does it?

Hi, TMP

Thanks for the reply, I have checked C17 the positive terminal is going to the output of the inductor, is this not correct?

Scarr said:
Hi, TMP

Thanks for the reply, I have checked C17 the positive terminal is going to the output of the inductor, is this not correct?
If the correct output voltage is negative 3.8 then the cap is the wrong polarity.

Negative?

Am I missing something? why do you this it's negative (I'm probably going to regret asking that) if for some reason it looks negative or the schematic implies neg then its wrong as it is definitly positive.

Thx