Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Linear Actuator for Artist

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bdoop21

Dear Electro Tech,

I am very new to electronics so please bear with me.
I am TRYING to use an Arduino prototyping platform to operate a linear actuator.
(http://arduino.cc)

I bought 1 Unipolar Linear Actuator
Digikey.com item # 403-1030-ND **broken link removed**

and 1 unipolar stepper motor
Digikey item # 403-1001-ND
**broken link removed**

Both motors have 6 wires.
THEN I found this tutorial on the Arduino website **broken link removed**

So I bought a ULN2003A driver (because thats what the arduino tutorial used), thinking that I would be able to run my motor with it. BUT the motor in the tutorial has 5 wires instead of 6 and uses a potentiometer, which I do not want to use.

I could not get either motor to work when I hooked up the ULN2003A.
The funny thing was, I hooked my motor directly to my arduino board and it worked....but the arduino ATMEGA168-20PU chip got warm so I think that cant be right either...it didnt get HOT though.

So anyway, my question for you is....How can I run my motor safely and what Driver should I use with either of the 2 motors that I have already purchased?

Do I even NEED the driver?
Is it ok if the Arduino gets warm but not hot?

Thank you so much for your time!
-MBE

Dear Electro Tech,
I would really appreciate some advise. Please dont pass me up=(
Thank you!!!
-MBE

Use the driver.
The modified picture is from their pdf.

Attachments