Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Limited scope bandwidth and higher frequencies

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sceadwian

Banned
Using a scope with a limited bandwidth, say 20mhz, what would be the best option for viewing waveforms at higher frequencies?

I'm a hobbyist and budget is more important than features, but I would like to view waveforms in the 72mhz and 900mhz ranges (R/C band and unlicensed band)

Freeware and opensource data analasys tools are pretty prevalent and can turn captured data into excelent spectral graphs for frequency viewing so I'm pondering getting a 10 or 20mhz DSO and creating a basic external analog heterodyning circuit to frequency shift the target frequency into the range the DSO can use.

I'm currently using a 500khz analog scope I picked up for 30 bucks in working order and find it to be very useful for understand DC and audio AC circuits but useless for RF, I'd like to hear people viewpoints on what to buy next as far as signal analasys goes on a limited budget, and using a more limited scope to view higher frequencies (though not bandwidth)

Even my most ambitious projects don't involved a bandwidth over 10mhz and even past 1mhz or so I'd likley rely on a 'pre packaged' sollution, but I would like to use a DSO to better understand and charactorize the kinds of noise and harmonics a circuit that works in those ranges creates.

Last edited:
Hmm, a new scope? I am not sure. I would surf ebay. I think they are fairly priced well...