Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Lightning Bug / Firefly Circuit

Status
Not open for further replies.

llamachant

Hello,

I'm very new to the electronics world but I want to try a small project. I'm looking to create a randomly blinking soft led firefly.

I can tell you that I want it to be battery powered and as small as possible. Other than that - I'm really not sure where to start. I look forward to the advice of the experts.

Thanks!

For compactness a small 8 pin micro controller would probably fit your needs, and you can set the fading and randomness of the lightning to taste. Many micro controllers can directly power a single LED, thought you do need to know a bit about programming and purchase a programmer to set the chips up.

I agree with Sceadwain. I would suggest you consider a PICAXE microcontroller. There are people on their Forum https://www.picaxeforum.co.uk/]PICAXE Forum - Powered by vBulletin that have already done the firefly. An 8-Pin chip is about $3.50 USD. No programmer is needed, just 2 resistors, 3-wire serial cable, and their free program editor. You won't even have to do the programming, since someone else has already written one.

Ken

Last edited:
New to electronics and you expect the person to get a download board, install the right software, and learn bit banging code. Jeez, surely there is a easier way...