Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Led

Status
Not open for further replies.

uaefame

Hello everyone,

I started learning about LED, thing i learned are: not all LED have same forward voltage drop and it change according to current input.

For example Yellow LED 5mm has a voltage drop of 2.1V at 20mA at 1 intensity.

Q1> Is my calculation for selecting resistor for LED is true or wrong.

R=(5V-2.1V)/20mA=145ohms
I will select a near value resistor = 150ohms

Q2> I was wandering about the different and the use of these:
1- degree beam angle for IR LED
2- degree angle of half intensity for IR LED

In your first queation the LED current will be 19.3mA only if the 5V is actually 5.00V, the 150 ohms is actually 150.0 ohms and if the LED's forward voltage is actually 2.1V.

In your second question the angles are the same.
A "bright" cheap LED is an ordinary cheap old LED that has focussing into a very narrow angle. A good modern LED is bright over a wide angle.