Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

LED / Tap Tempo Readout project

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi Whiz Kids,

I am a newbie here and I need help..... I need a circuit that will flash an LED based on a tempo tapped into a momentary contact switch. It needs to work with a 9 volt supply.

It will only need to control one LED. The duration of the tempo cyle could be from 10ms up to 2 seconds or so.... (that's not too critical on the top end.)

The momentary footswitch will send this "tapped" tempo to a audio delay unit and to this LED flasher.

Anyone have any ideas on this one?

Thanks, Steelroller

You need a microcontroller for this (or a big board full of logic chips). You put the switch on an input port, read the switch thirty or a hundred times a second or so while a timer is operating, save the times of the switch activations to memory, then use the sequence of timestamps to reproduce the tempo in playback mode.

Whew.... I was looking for something easy.... this sounds incredibly tough...
I have no idea even where to begin in designing that type of circuit....

But thanks for the reply....

steelroller45236