Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

led tail lights

Status
Not open for further replies.

sccarguy

Hello everyone. I have some experience with basic 12v electrical systems. I need some help with a circut. I want to make some LED tail lights for my car. I would like to build the circut with 14 LEDs. any help would be appreciated. Starting from scratch. Thank you!

Somebody is gonna say it, so it might as well be me. Altering your taillights may be illegal. Please check your state laws before preceeding.

As long as they provide the same functions as OEM equipment there are no laws prohibiting changing or altering tail lights.

LEDs need the current to be controlled, not the voltage. For instance, if you have an LED rated at 50 mA and 2 V, if you supply it with 30 mA (60 % of rating) it will be somewhat dimmer, and if you supply it with 70 mA (140 % of rating) it will be somewhat brighter and will probably burn out in a minute or two.

If you supply it with 1.2 V (60 % of rating) it will not light at all. If you supply it with 2.8 V (140 % of rating) it will explode.

So you need to supply a certain current, and if that is not perfectly accurate, it doesn't matter too much.