Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

LED Lights

Status
Not open for further replies.

crazyhamm

I was looking to arange 120 3w LED's in a series, 100 3w RED LED's **broken link removed** and 20 BLUE 3w LED's **broken link removed**, however I am new to all this and I dont know how to power it.

So I have two questions, How do I power this thing? & Can I install a dimmer on something like this?

Last edited:
That's pretty insane, that's almost 750watts of LED's. First you'll have to find out what drivers you're going to use, those type's of LED's should optimally each over their own dedicated LED driver, and with that many it's a good idea. Run from a 5 volt power supply you're going to need a 5 volt supply capable of about 200amps minimum. How do you plan on heatsinking the LED's that's quiet a project to be working on.

My guess (and it's only an educated guess, as I haven't even looked at your LED auctions or a datasheet) is that you would be best to find a series-parallel arrangement that would run from a medium-voltage, high-current power supply (let's say somewhere in the neighborhood of 12 to 48 volts, regulated), with the appropriate current-limiting resistors for each series string. This will take a bit of back-of-the-envelope calculation.

Last edited: