Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

LED lighting system

Status
Not open for further replies.
i wasn't sure which category to post this in, so i chose this one.

I am a woodworker, and building a 20" x 20" x 20" walnut lockbox. I would like to have a LED light system in the interior, but I don't know where to go, or where to start. I'm looking for any suggestions, advice, hints, etc. There will be multiple shelves on the interior, and the bottom of the box will probably be flocked (flocking is a dust felt that is attached to a surface with an adhesive). i would very much like the lights to be somewhat bright, but not shining right in my face when the box opens, and the doors are on the front side (open towards you). i have a 12 volt battery recharger, so i assume i will be running 12 VDC. i also have a 4 channel 12 VDC remote control system (i am running some type of actuator or solenoid off of also), and have yet to determine if the LED's will run directly off of the recharger, or out of the remote system. i think i would like the LED's to turn on automatically when the front doors are opened.

the problem i have is funding. i just started a small business (custom woodworking, piano tuning, live piano music, beekeeping, selling local honey, small-party catering, photography for any occasion), and it's a slow start. basically im shopping cheap. i think i would like to use many inexpensive lights, but i will take all suggestions offered, both negative and positive suggestions.