Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

LED light array

Status
Not open for further replies.

life-saver

This is pretty simple stuff I reckon, but I'm just having a little difficulty wrapping my brain around the little details. I really don't have a great deal of electronics experience.. I'm more of a "wannabe"? lol.

Anyhow.. I've found bulk LED's on eBay for cheap. I want to be able to build my own LED light modules, which could be used in automotive applications (I'm a police officer and I'm wanting to play around with some ideas).

So.. essentially, I need to figure out the best way to supply power to a light array.. voltage in an automotive application can vary (especially with all the equipment in a police car) so, there will definitely be spikes in voltage supply.

Next.. I need to be able to scale this up and down.. meaning, I may want to build a light array that drives 3 rows of 8 LED's or I may want to drive 6 rows of 6 or different configurations.

Here is some numbers that I'm trying to figure out.. the blue LED's that I will primarily be using are 3.6v, 25mA LED's. As best that I can figure, I could put 3 in series, with a resistor.. and it would require 10.8v, add a resistor to that, and repeat this for however many I would want to run in parallel? is that accurate? so, for example, if I would want ONE module of 3x8 (24LEDs), I would have 8 tied together in parallel.

Am I on the right track and making sense? Or did I go wrong somewhere??