Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Laser Tag.

Status
Not open for further replies.

jpalomba

Well, I have been an electronic hobbyist for some time now. I am 22 and was elated to find this site because its something I have always dreamed people would do. Well I breadboarded and IR laser tag which has been nothing new and it was ridiculously simple. A few photodiodes connected to relays and with IR led. I quickly got bored with it and was frustrated by its lack of range due to the light dispersing, even after tinkering with lenses to focus the light. However, I did move one to lasers. I was happy with the results.

However, there have been mixed talks about the effects of lasers on eyes. In this particular case I was using laser diodes but I suppose it also would be relatively simple to use a helium neon laser tube which I hear is not as harmful. But what I have heard is quite mixed. Some say that if there happened to be a accidental exposure to the eyes, then you most likely would blink and those chances combined with the unlikelihood of being hit in the eye, make it reasonable. However, others talk about lasers being quite harmful.

I have found online that there are laser safety glasses. **broken link removed**
They are reasonably priced as well. only 29$.
However, I am concerned because there is little information on eye protection regardign lasers and it woudl seem that there is little information on a this sort of "lazer tag" set up, done through laser diodes.