Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Laser Reflex Sensor Voltage Output Problems

Status
Not open for further replies.

8Project6

I am a Civil Engineering student and I am working on a project using a laser sensor which outputs a voltage between 0 to 10V (depending on displacement measured). However, I need to feed the range into a DAQ board (Data Acquisition) and it requires a range of -5V to 5V. Is this any easy fix with a circuit? Or is it more complicated than it seems? Help please, I don't know much in the way of electronics!

I am a Civil Engineering student and I am working on a project using a laser sensor which outputs a voltage between 0 to 10V (depending on displacement measured). However, I need to feed the range into a DAQ board (Data Acquisition) and it requires a range of -5V to 5V. Is this any easy fix with a circuit? Or is it more complicated than it seems? Help please, I don't know much in the way of electronics!

hi,
One way that is sometimes used, is to connect the DAQ input to -5V via, say a 4K7 resistor and the [0 to +10V] Laser output to the DAQ also via a 4K7 resistor.

This assumes a low impedance output from the laser, you may have to experiment with resistor values to give the range you you require.

EDIT:
The way I would choose is a operational amp level shifter.

Last edited:
Data Sheet for Laser also gives:
-Current Load Voltage Output: < 1 ma
-Current Output Load Resistance <500 Ohm

Would this imply a sufficiently low impedance?