Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Laser alarm system not working correctly..

Status
Not open for further replies.

neba3939

Hi guys, i am a first year college student and this is my first project to build by myself.. and i need help.
I build this laser alarm system and it works good. the Alarm sounds when the laser is broken and it stops when the laser is not interrupted. But the problem is when the laser is disturbed the alarm sounds but as soon as the laser touches the photocell again the alarm stops..
i was thinking, is there any way to make the alarm sound constantly non stop ones the laser is broken, Is it possible to make the alarm sound continuously without non stop unless it is stopped manually?
Please look at the schematics and help me..
thank you

Think about using a SCR rather than a transistor. Once gated on it will remain on until the circuit is reset.

Ron

you could even use a latching relay, like those found in those portable 12v car air compressors, when the pressure hits the set mark, it turns itself off, and resets when you flip the switch off/on.

Shouldn't the 1k and the photocell be swapped over in that circuit?

Last edited:
Shouldn't the 1k and the photocell be swapped over in that circuit?

I was also wondering about that? :) I would think so.

Ron