Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Kitchen timer to open relay help please.

Status
Not open for further replies.

ItsTheH

Hi all, and thanks in advance for reading and for any assistance offered.

I am fairly new to electronics and have built a few circuits from schematics recently, and am now looking to try some things that I would use for my airsoft site (skirmish) in the UK.

The 1st one is as follows :-

I would like to use a common electronic kitchen timer with a piezo buzzer on it (taking the wires from the piezo), amplify the voltage and then turn the voltage from small pulses to a constant signal for enough time to switch a relay.

After quite a bit of reading, it seems I need to pass it through an operation amplifier and a monostable multivibrator before it hits the relay. I wouldn't mind a bit of trial and error but I live a long way from any electronics shops and purchasing the wrong parts will result in long delays and (I would imagine) frustartion.

The kitchen timer only gives off about 20 milivolts through the piezo.

I would like to use a 12 volt power source for this circuit.

If anyone can help me out, I will be forever in their debt!

Just to try and help people understand what I am trying to achieve, I would like to build some units that can be set for up to an 8 hour countdown, and when they hit zero they will blow an electrically operated pyrotechnic (9 to 12 volts)

Hope you can help,

Howard