Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Just Curious

Status
Not open for further replies.

iRavenoak

I am an electro-tech student and I was wondering what would happen if I used a diode that was too big. The tv I am working on requires a diode (in5406) and I only have (in5404) and (in5408) at my disposal.

I am an electro-tech student and I was wondering what would happen if I used a diode that was too big. The tv I am working on requires a diode (in5406) and I only have (in5404) and (in5408) at my disposal.

As long as it's a higher spec, then it's perfectly fine - however, I would suggest a 5404 is a LOWER spec (actually lower voltage) than a 5406 - personally and professionally I only stock the 1N5408 for replacing any in that range, there's no point keeping poorer ones.

hi,
I would use the 1N5408, its got a higher reverse voltage rating, but that will not be a problem
E

In your application, the 5408 higher voltage rating has no consequences. Generally speaking, as the voltage rating of a diode increases, so does its forward voltage drop (Vf) at any particular current compared to other diodes in the same series with lower voltage ratings. This almost never is a problem, but can affect efficiency if you are sweating every milliwatt.

ak