Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Just a small doubt

Status
Not open for further replies.

earjun

Hii my friends Im a newbie i would like to know that if i connect the positive and negative end of a AC to DC converter after it converted ac to dc will there be any danger?

I'm not sure what you are trying to say. Are you talking about dead shorting the + and - together? If so, then yes, would certinly be dangerous and harmful to the converter. Why would you even want to do that?

To keep the juice from escaping? It will smoke really bad. It might even catch on fire.

if it's a commercial switch-mode ac - dc converter, nothing should happen. the converter will detect a shorted output and shutdown, at least, all the ones I've worked with do this - most of them do it so fast I don't even see a spark when the outputs touch.

Some convertors mail fail or overheat - in the extreme case they might catch on fire. It it question that has many answers and the answer that applies is quite dependent on the convertor.

earjun said:
Hii my friends Im a newbie i would like to know that if i connect the positive and negative end of a AC to DC converter after it converted ac to dc will there be any danger?
Connect it to what?
Sheesh, do we have to be mind readers too? I think it's time the forum moderator adds another category: Braindead Electronics

Last edited:
Another forum I post in has a section called the moron zone for crap like this, perhaps we need one.