Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

JDM programmer question

Status
Not open for further replies.

otherguy

I'm just getting started with my first home-made programmer for use in an upcoming project.

I've chosen to give the **broken link removed** programmer a try since i've been able to salvage nearly every part from old electronics and past projects.

Unfortunately I'm unable to source an 8.2v Zener Diode (D6 in linked JDM scematic). I do however have a number of other zeners including a 7.5v and a 9.1v.
Would it be possible to use either of these in place of the suggested 8.2v zener (D6)?

Thanks in advance.
-Jim

otherguy said:
II do however have a number of other zeners including a 7.5v and a 9.1v.
Would it be possible to use either of these in place of the suggested 8.2v zener (D6)?
A silicon diode like 1N4148 drops about 0.65V when current is flowing. So you can easily adds 0.65V to a 7.5V zener by placing a diode in series with it.

Please read comment about JDM in the Sticky of this forum. Before you starts building, please tests the voltages on your serial port pins to common. If you cannot obtain 7.5V reading or higher with either polarity, the JDM design will most probably not work.

thanks for the info, that's great news... cause i have plenty of 4148 diodes.

And yes, my serial port meets the voltage requirements.

Thanks again for your help.