Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Issue writing to PIC16F627 with Progpic2

Status
Not open for further replies.

nomdomokunnom

Hi guys,

I'm new to PIC programming and to Assembly so bear with me please; I recently bought a kit from Maplin which comprised a Velleman VM111 programmer and P16F627 and tried one of the demo applications which came with the software, and a couple of simple programs I adapted from online to learn assembly, which worked fine. I then adapted a sample program from Nigel Goodwin's beginning , assembled it with MPASM and wrote it to the microcontroller with Progpic2, and it worked... but somehow progpic2 can no longer communicate with the μc, so I can't change the program, or even remove the program from the device. I'm totally stumped as to why, as I've also double-checked the configuration in progpic2. Any ideas?

The code I used (slightly modified from Nigel Goodwin's tutorial since I'm using a different chip):

Code:
;Hello chip program, adapted from http://www.winpicprog.co.uk/pic_tutorial1.htm.

LIST	p=16F627		;tell assembler what chip we are using
	include "P16F627.inc"		;include the defaults for the chip
	__config _BODEN_ON & _CP_OFF & _DATA_CP_OFF & _PWRTE_ON & _WDT_OFF & _LVP_OFF & _MCLRE_ON & _XT_OSC

cblock 	0x20 			;start of general purpose registers
		count1 			;used in delay routine
		counta 			;used in delay routine 
		countb 			;used in delay routine
	endc

org	0x0000			;org sets the origin, 0x0000 for the 16F628,