Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Isolation transformer and safety

Status
Not open for further replies.

mw52563

Hi,
Being a complete novice, yesterday I managed to blow a fuse on the circuit board for a treadmill. I've been researching it a lot more and I've come across isolation transformers that I wasn't aware of previously. I don't plan on doing anymore electronic work in the near future. But I'd still like to have something available safety wise on the off chance. I cant find anything on eBay so I was thinking, just for circuit testing would these two transformers connected back to back work?

I also have a 240v to 110v transformer that I used to use on a building site. Would using a 110 to 240 plug on it have the same effect?
**broken link removed**

Thanks for any help
Mike

The transformers would not work well, they would be rather inefficient.

The cable passes 240V direct to the 110V connector - it's for test equipment, not for powering things!

CPC do sell a range of 230V > 230V safety isolating transformers:

The power rating in VA should be at least 50% higher than the watts rating of anything you may connect, and for a motor driven device may need to be several times higher.

Edit:
There is a 200VA one on ebay at a reasonable price:
**broken link removed**

Last edited:
Indeed, the unit is clearly described as an adaptor.