Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Is This What I Need Or Will This Do What I'm Trying To Do...

Status
Not open for further replies.

rs14smith

Hi everyone,

I'm extremely extremely new to RF devices, so I thought before I bought two components on Amazon I'd check here to see if they are what I need to accomplish my goal.

What I want to do for starters is, I have the Parallax Board of Education, and I want to be able to turn LEDs on and off with a RF Controller.

So I searched amazon, and was wondering would this controller do the trick:

Amazon.com: Transmitter: (ZX10) 5-Channel FM 72 MHz: 3D2: T-28: Toys & Games

Then I know I also need a receiver, and amazon stated that, people that bought that controller bought this:

Amazon.com: 6-Channel Micro Receiver FM 72MHZ, Neg Shift: BCP: Toys & Games

After I'm comfortable turning the LEDs on and off wirelessly, I want to be able to wirelessly drive my Boe Bot that I build, so I only see myself needing "4" controls. Forward/Backwards/Left/Right, but I just need to make sure these are the only components I need in order to make that happened. I also don't want to spend a lot of money to make it happen :)

So in all, I'm just trying to learn the basics first, and want to start with some simple devices.

Thanks!

Last edited:
If you want to use a microcontroller board to control something (LEDs in this case) wirelessly you're better off getting module tailored for that purpose.
SparkFun Electronics - RF Link Transmitter - 315MHz