Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

is it possible to get a Battery to power A LED for a LONG time?

Status
Not open for further replies.

shaunye

I'm currently studying design at uni and don't have much electronics background. I would like to design something that requires battery (cant do powered to mains) and its an indoors item so i dont think solar would help.

Basicly the idea is to have a small LED light which is permanetly on. Is there any (small - was thinking button cell) batterys that would be able to power this for a long time, like months, hopefully a year? or is it just not possible?

thanks for any help

A good solution will be 2 alkaline AAA cells that powers an LED that is driven through a joule-thief circuit.

It'll surely last for many months(hopefully a year) I hope :)

Most definitely, LEDs typically don't use a lot of power. White LEDs are a bit more inefficient compared to those of a narrower spectrum. I have recently completed a DIY head tracking device that utilizes 3 high output IR LEDs. I'm running them off a standard 9v battery with a 120ohm current limiting resistor. The battery lasts for ages. Using 2 AA battery will also give you a nice run time. Here are a couple of very useful tools to help you out.

**broken link removed**
LED Resistor Calculator

Last edited: