Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Is it possible to detect a phone radio and measure how far it is from the cell?

Status
Not open for further replies.

jfbaro

Hi,

First of all, I am a completly newbie regarding electronics.

Imagine I have a low range device which is able to detect the tries for connections from mobile phones (considering there is no cell tower in range).

Is it possible, somehow, to detect how far is the mobile phone (trying to connect) from my device (maybe only the antenna or something).

I am talking about 10 - 15 meters precision.

Sorry if my question does not make any sense. I would be happy to give any further detail you guys may need! :)

Regards

It makes sense, but just let me read back your question to you to make sure we (well, I) understand what you're after:

You want to know 1) about the presence of any active mobile phones within (x distance) of you, and 2) how far away those phones are from you, within 10-15m. Is that correct?

It is, indeed! We are software developers (jfbaro and rarduin) and would like to build a open source device to help rescuing people after disasters. We are still developing the idea, but I think it's feasible. Please, check the projects page: **broken link removed**