Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

IR Transmitter/Receiver

Status
Not open for further replies.

smellypaws

Hi eveyone,

I want to build an IR receiver/tranmitter to UART to work with a particular device. I also want it to work with a PIC16f887 because I have one of these already and have some experience working with this pic. The problem is I dont know where to start at all I have no experience with IR, and the device uses its own encoding scheme which I dont think fits the info I have found on the internet for IR devices (I could be wrong of course).

I have found the following about the device and the software it uses:

The UART settings I know should be:

The baud rate is 9600 baud, 8 bit, no parity, one stopbit, no hardware handshake, no software handshake. DTR must be set high which the software sets.

The IR is 56KHz CW or ASK(Amplitude Shifted Keying)
Transmitting the characters 0-9, A-F and '<''>' only.

Any help on where to start on this woul be greatly appreciated

Thanks

hi,
Look at this and the other tutorials on the link.

Thanks Eric that has gotten me started, reading through the tutorial I see that the 38KHz modulation is accomplished directly in software, can this be modified to produce the 56KHz that I need?

Thanks Eric that has gotten me started, reading through the tutorial I see that the 38KHz modulation is accomplished directly in software, can this be modified to produce the 56KHz that I need?