Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

IR Receivers and Continuous Signals

Status
Not open for further replies.

remiller

I want to built a circuit that can detect objects using a 38 kHz infrared signal and have been able to create the emitter, but I'm having a hard time with the detector. I recently found out that it is because the type of IR receiver I was using requires the 38 kHz signal to be sent in bursts. As I am relatively new to electronics, I would like to keep the circuit simple. Is there a receiver available that will detect a continuous signal?

im fairly new to this stuff as well but i had a similar problem, if you use a simple anode cathode receiver it will work but the range wont be as far and sun light and room light will affect it as well

Last edited:
Thanks, shaneshane. The sensitivity to sun light and room light is one of the things that I would like to avoid, but I may try this.

The IR receiver ICs have an automatic gain control that reduces the gain when there is interference at the frequency the IR is modulated at. Modern compact fluorescent light bulbs create IR interference continuously at about 40kHz so the AGC in the IR detector IC reduces the gain when this kind of continuous interference or continuous signal is received.

Actually I am dealing with this same issue for my senior design project. We need to keep track of which of 4 IR detectors is getting the most signal from 1 detector.