Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Ion trapping and AC amplification

Status
Not open for further replies.

jwbrooks0

Hi guys,

This is my first time posting here. Love the site.

I was recently asked to build a "macro" scopic ion trap (Paul trap) to levitate Styrofoam particles (2 mm and smaller) for demonstrations. I've built the trap, but it's not working. My calculations tell me that my AC voltage isn't high enough.

The trap requires oscillating voltages, and lower frequencies are better for "macro" particles. Therefore, I'm using AC from the wall. The problem is that my calculations show that I need voltages ranging from 1000 VAC to 20,000 VAC at 60 Hz. Current is not an issue here. My lab has access to several variacs, but these can only raise the voltage to 135 VAC.

One of my co-workers suggested that I buy a "step-down" transformer and wire it in backwards to act as a "step-up" transformer. I bought a 20 times (roughly) stepdown transformer (I bought this before I knew exactly what range of voltages I needed), and I tested it as a step down transformer. It worked. I reversed it, and that's when it caused problems. It did raise the voltage by 20x, but it simultaneously lowered the source voltage (I was using the aforementioned variac at 135 VAC) to 0.5 VAC. I have no idea why it's doing this. Here is the transformer I bought: https://www.alliedelec.com/search/productdetail.aspx?sku=70218456