Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

interrupts

Status
Not open for further replies.

jagjoes

I am a beginner in microcontrollers and need some help iwant to know that how can i take 15 external interrupts in 89c51 as i only have 2 interrupt pins please give me circuit diagram to explain.......

The circuit is called a priority encoder. I believe the part number is 74148. I dont know if it has been realized in a more modern technology than TTL.

Interrupts or Inputs ?

74148 is 8 lines to 3, the guy need something like 16 to 4 but nevertheless that will not react like one expect from interrupts, you know:
1) halt normal program
2) jump to Interrupt Service Routine
3) with a RETI resume normal program

So jagjoes if you really need 15 interrupts, and I mean interrupts, 89C51 is not that part you need.
If you need 15 inputs to a µC then consider memory mapped I/O, using I²C I/O chips, part with more I/O...

The 74148 chip is used in this case. The "GS" output of the chips is tied to the 89C51's interrupt input so that the CPU can check the 74148 chips to see which of the 15 ISR's it should then branch off to. The 74148's can be cascaded, so that'll handle 16 inputs.

The thing is that there are bound to be lost interrupts with that many sources, and since there isn't any state... I think the standard thing is to use a PAL/GAL/CPLD for this sort of stuff. And if you don't want to lose any interrupts, have a bunch of flags, and an ack line coming back from the CPU.