Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Input supply voltage regulation loop for solar peak power tracking

Status
Not open for further replies.

eddie_matos

Hi all,

This is my first "non-Arduino" electronics project. I'm a mechanical engineer and this is my first go at trying to build a more efficient, economic and compact circuit then what you end up with when using an Arduino.

I'm trying to build a DC-DC step-down converter circuit that will output 5V (0.5A) to a USB socket (for connecting low-power appliances such as mobile phones). The power supply is a 15V solar panel. I know there are tons of example circuits all over the place, and I have already racked up a few hours playing around with a step-down converter using the MC34063(ACN).

My main difficulty is when the available power from the solar panel dips below the load power demand (e.g. when a cloud comes along). When this happens the step-down converter forces the solar panel operating voltage way below the maximum power point voltage (into the variable-voltage zone), and it gets stuck there even after the cloud has passed. I know this is only a problem because I'm choosing to spec my panel operating voltage at 15V instead of 7V. I tried using a 7V panel very successfully: when a cloud came along the resulting decrease in the panel voltage also decreased the output voltage, thereby decreasing the power demand and preventing the input voltage from falling any lower. Unfortunately however, the 15V panel is a must.