Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Input on the proper use of a flyback diode, and determining its specs.

Status
Not open for further replies.

redindia

I've included a diagram to help convey what I have going on here. I'm mostly self taught so I can definitely some use feedback if anyone has any suggestions or if you see something I am doing wrong (ie: Am I using the right resistor for the base of the transistor? Is the transistor going to reach saturation?)

I have 2 channels of 12v solenoid valves which are being controlled via a micro-controller. I am using a TIP120 transistor for each channel. I am turning the valves on and off very quickly. Valve is open for ~50ms, then closed for 150ms, for a total of 5 cycles per second.

I need some flyback protection but I honestly have no idea what the best approach is and how much protection I need. I know a flyback diode will slow the rate at which I am currently controlling the valves and that may be a compromise I have to make.

Should I use a single diode for each channel, which is placed right after the transistor? This would make for a total of 2 diodes.

Or do I need a diode for each and every inductive load, making for a total of 19 diodes as they are attached directly at the valves?

How do I then go about calculating which diode will meet my needs without severely compromising the speed of which I can control the valves?

Attachments

• question.jpg
    question.jpg
    254.4 KB · Views: 187