Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Inject sound into stereo channel

Status
Not open for further replies.

jkomets

I'm interested in electronics, but a complete newbie, so please bear with me. My area of expertise is computers, but I'm always willing to learn new things. :) I can use a soldering iron well enough to solder a modchip in a Wii, if that's a good gauge of skill. I can also program in several high-level languages, if a digital circuit is recommended.

Anyway, I have an O2 XDA Orbit (navi/phone), and I wanted to build a device that would "inject" the sound into my two front speakers in my car. It would have a stereo input and a stereo output for the actual speaker channel. It would also have a 3.5mm jack for navi input. When the circuit detects input from the navi channel, it redirects the stereo input through another channel, on which I would put a "volume-reducer" (forgive, but all I know is that you can buy at electronics stores 3.5mm to 3.5mm cables that can regulate volume). It then directs both the navi instructions from the phone and the reduced-volume music from the head unit to the front speaker channel. When the navi is finished, I would like the system to wait for a settable amount of time before resuming normal playback, to avoid the navi pausing in its instructions and having the music play again in the middle of the instructions.

Is this feasible? Would a digital or analogue circuit be best suited? How much should this project cost?