Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

infrared sensor project

Status
Not open for further replies.

jordanau

Hello my name is Jordan and I am new to these forums. I am not experienced in designing electronics. I repaired microwaves for nearly 5 years (all of the way through high school) so I am comfortable around soldering, electronics terms, etc. Sorry for the long info I am just trying to give as much info as possible like the sticky says.

I have a need for a mechanism that is triggered by an infrared sensor. Basically the sensor needs a range of only 1 cm or so. Just enough for a finger to pass by it. This device cannot be large, about the size of a small cellular phone. Here is a QUICK and DIRTY concept sketch of the circuit. I am quite sure it is extremely erroneous even now :D

**broken link removed**

This should be relatively simple I think. Basically the circuit is open unless the switch is on and the infrared sensor is triggered. When both are triggered, the current from the battery will operate a small motor or piston-like device.

If anyone can point me to projects that are similar. that would be helpful. Also if anyone has any advice on the project that is good to. As I continue to research (google :) ) the project I will be adding more to the forum.