Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

im trying to figure out how to build a time delay circuit, new here.

Status
Not open for further replies.

davy87nj

Hi my name is David, i live in NJ and im new here. Im an automotive technician and have electronics training, but some of this stuff i searched blows me away, but i would like to learn whatever i can. So yeah, im interested in making a 3-5 second time delay circuit. I searched and im not really understanding the math maybe. Can anyone explain a good way to make one of these cheaply and maybe explain the math if there is any? I was not able to find a cheap time delay switch online but maybe im not looking in the right place. please forgive my ignorance, gotta start some where i guess. what i would like to do with this is flip a switch and have a light bulb filiment like device turn on and heat up enough to create ignition but i would like a around 3 second delay. I dont really know if this is possible but it made sense to me, thank you. And what a great site hopefully i can learn other things to widen my knowledge of electronics. thanks, David.

Google around for LM555 or NE555 or just 555. This is a very inexpensive, very versatile timer chip. You will find numerous circuits for time delays and a dozen other things. You should also be able to find timing calculators specifically for the 555 that figure out T= 1.1RC. You will need to know the current that your filament draws to determine what will switch it on and off.

Last edited: