Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Im getting the following error message for C Using PIC

Status
Not open for further replies.

faomari

The error is the following
"Can't find 0x58 words for psect rbss_0 in segment BANK0 (error)"
Think its something to do with writing too many strings with too many characters so there isnt enough space, if so is there a way to clear a string after using it. Im thinking of making the string = "" but dont think thats very proffesional, not that im a pro at this or anything.

Thanks

tell us what compiler you are using. and show us some of your codes/routines for us to be able to comment.

Ok, im using the following compiler. "HI-TECH PICC COMPILER (Microchip PIC) V8.02 PL1". I had intitially character of the following form:-
char INTRO[] ="fffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffff";

What i was doing before in which it was giving me the error "Can't find 0x58 words for psect rbss_0 in segment BANK0 (error)". Is that when i make that Char INTRO[] a bit bigger or intialise another char variable of a form like this for example
char INTRO1[] = "EE";

it gives that error, iv been reading about and found that you could do RUN-TIME Storage allocaion in which you can allocate and free memory. Is this possible when using a PIC. I have somehting like this in my funciton but the compiler is giving me error.

void Start()
{

char* INTRO;
INTRO = malloc(sizeof(char));
setUpAsynchUSART();

while(1)
{
while(AsUSARTgetByte() != ' ');